Eligibility Criteria for Canada Cups and Canadian National Championships

2020-2021 Board of Directors

September 20, 2020

Resolution Regarding Eligibility Criteria for Canada Cups and Canadian National Championships

Whereas:  the CFF strives to create open and equitable access to competitions and foster better competitive opportunities for all athletes residing in or visiting Canada.

and Whereas: the CFF Board of Directors believes that Canadian fencing community benefits from maximum exposure to the variety of potential competitor styles and levels of experience in competitions held within Canada.

Now Therefore: having consulted with the Provincial Association representatives and the Technical Coaching staff, the CFF Board of Directors has made the following determinations regarding participation of non-Canadian nationals and non-permanent Residents in Canadian Domestic fencing competitions effective on the date of this policy’s approval:

  1. Participation in all Canada Cup and Canadian National Championships competitions will be open to any athlete that holds a valid CFF Licence, provided they meet other relevant restrictions (e.g. age category), irrespective of their Citizenship or Permanent Residency status in Canada at the time of the competition.
  2. Persons who do not hold Canadian citizenship or Permanent Residency Status at the time of the competition taking place shall not be eligible to accumulate High Performance Program points to obtain qualification for the National Team or obtaining of fencer ratings (A/B/C/D etc.).
  3. The onus of providing the Citizenship and Permanent Residency Status (if requested) shall be on the participating fencers. The High Performance Director of the CFF shall have discretion to take such steps as may be required to resolve any potential inquiries or disputes arising in related matters in accordance with the applicable CFF policies.


Date Approved: September 20, 2020

Signed on Behalf of the Board of Directors by:                                                                         

Yann Bernard, President