

CFF Annual General Meeting Ottawa, ON Saturday, August 24, 2019

Minutes of Meeting

Attendees:

Jackson Wang President, CFF
Andrew Rusheleau President AFA
Lucie Hamelin President OFA
Wendy Yano President NB
Sue Pitura President SK
Kyle Turcotte President MB
Jean-Yves Pelletier President QC

Brendan Robertson Board member BCFA

Administrative Director OFA Kristina Han Max Brinck-Croteau **Technical Director OFA David Collins Executive Director NB** Caroline Sharp **CFF Executive Director** CFF Board of Director **Dmitry Balashov** Yann Bernard CFF Board of Director John French CFF Board of Director CFF Board of Director Frank Meunier Jean-Marie Banos CFF Board of Director

Sasha Pellerin Gardner CFF Member Services Coordinator

Manuel Belmonte, Chair, Referee Committee
Steven Symons, Chair, Competitions committee
Lynn Seguin, Chair, Wheelchair fencing
Gaby Weisz Chair, Veterans Committee

Jack Zhou Translator

Annette LeBlanc New Brunswick Board Candidate

Kelly Grieves Ontario Board Candidate
Patrick Fournier Quebec Board Candidate
Michel Dessureault Vango Fencing Club



1. Welcome by the president

At the President's delegation, Mr. Yann Bernard was appointed to chair the AGM. Yann Bernard, on behalf of the President called the AGM to order at 13:32 and welcomed all members as well as those attending who do not hold a vote as part of the AGM, including the members of the Board of Directors.

2. Nomination of AGM Secretary

Moved by Ontario, seconded by New Brunswick, that John French serve as secretary for the AGM.: Carried.

3. Roll call and Credentials

British Columbia – 2 votes carried by Brendan Robertson
Alberta – 2 votes carried by Andrew Rusheleau
Saskatchewan – 1 vote carried by Sue Pitura
Manitoba – 1 vote carried by Kyle Turcotte
Ontario – 4 votes carried by Kristina Han
Quebec – 3 votes carried by Jean-Yves Pelletier
New Brunswick – 1 vote carried by Wendy Yano
Nova Scotia – 1 proxy vote carried by Wendy Yano
Prince Edward Island – Delinquent in member fees - no votes
Newfoundland – Delinquent in member fees - no votes

Total of 15 votes, with a simple majority of 8 votes.

4. Agenda adoption

Moved by AB, seconded by BC, to adopt the agenda. Motion carried.

5. Adoption 2018 AGM minutes

Two provinces were incorrectly ordered in the roll call, and Saskatchewan should be listed before Manitoba.

Moved by AB, seconded by NS: that the secretarial note under section 13: Secretarial Note: Without the AGM endorsement of the By-Laws, the CFF is currently non-compliant with sport governing bodies regulations and governance requirements for NSOs. be removed from the minutes for reasons of factual incorrectness. Motion carried.

Moved by AB, seconded by BC, to approve the modified minutes. Motion carried.



6. Business arising from the minutes

NB requested an update on section 18.a – safe sport. In response Caroline Sharp referred to the safe sport initiatives that have developed nationally over the past year and which will include standardized communications materials for all NSO's and sports organizations in the future.

7. Financial statements and auditors report 2018/19

The CFF Treasurer, Frank Meunier, presented the audited financial statements of the CFF and the Auditors Report to the AGM, which had previously been approved by the Board of Directors.

8. Acceptance of the Auditor's report

Moved by QC, seconded by SK, that the audited financial statements and the Auditor's Report be adopted by the membership of the CFF. Carried.

9. Appointment of the Auditor

On the recommendation of Frank Meunier as Treasurer of the CFF, it was moved by AB, seconded by QC, that the firm of Leslie & McLeod be appointed as auditors for the 2018/19 financial year. Motion Carried.

10. Branch Member Report

The reports of the Branch Members were accepted as previously tabled.

11. Reports of the Board of Directors

Yann Bernard, on the delegation of the President, presented a report on the activities of the Board of Directors which highlighted the activities of the past year, including the adoption of policies and the sound financial management of the CFF.

12. Reports of Committees

The Reports of the Committees of the CFF were accepted as previously tabled.



13. Staff report

The Report of the Executive Director on behalf of the staff of the CFF was accepted as previously tabled.

14. Ratification of Business of the Board of Directors

Moved by ON, Seconded by QC, to accept the business of the board of directors. Motion carried.

15. Nomination of Scrutineers

Motioned by NB, seconded by AB, to appoint Lynn Seguin and Gaby Weisz as scrutineers. Motion carried.

Instructions were provided from the President to the scrutineers.

16. Election of Officers - 3 Officers, 2 year terms

There were 5 nominees, and the nominees were asked to provide a short summary of their candidacy. After the subsequent election:

- I. Lucie Hamelin was elected to the Board of Directors for a two year term, to serve until the AGM in August 2021.
- II. Patrick Turcotte was elected to the Board of Directors for a two year term, to serve until the AGM in August 2021.
- III. Kelly Grieves was elected to the Board of Directors for a two year term, to serve until the AGM in August 2021.

Moved by AB, seconded by ON, to destroy the ballots. Motion carried.

17. 2020 AGM location

Motion by AB, seconded by SK, to host the 2020 AGM in Toronto, on the weekend of August 21-22nd, 2020. Motion carried.

18. Other Business

Moved by BC, Seconded by QC, to formally thank the outgoing board members, Frank Meunier, Paige Backman and Jean-Marie Banos. Motion carried.



Moved by AB, seconded by SK, to thank Caroline Sharp for her significant contribution as Executive Director for the CFF over the past 7 years. Motion carried.

Question from NB, regarding the status of disciplinary issues and whether sanctions should be reported to the provinces, especially when the sanction includes a suspension from competitions or events.

Yann Bernard explained the challenges related to sanctions, privacy and confidentiality concerns and terms of any agreements, and described the current practice of letting as many PSO's know as is reasonably possible and necessary of any imposed sanctions.

It was recommended by members that all provinces be notified of any sanctions issued. Gaby Weisz added that the veterans committee should also be informed.

Yann noted that the new CFF policies will address this to the extent possible and that the pending universal code of conduct may add clarification to the issue.

NB initiated a discussion regarding the status of the \$5 development membership fee. To enact this quickly, the members would need to unanimously agree to a special meeting to vote on an amendment to the Bylaws. If this is not done, a special meeting will be called by the board at the appropriate time and with the required 30 days notice.

19. Adjournment

Motioned by NB, second by AB to adjourn the meeting at 16:30 pm.