CFF is Seeking Nominations

By Ambrosia Cantin February 26, 2019

The CFF will be staging its 7thAnnual Awards & Recognition Banquet on Saturday, May 18th, 2019 in conjunction with the CFF National Fencing Championships in Quebec City.

New for 2019 is the Crossed Swords Fencing Equipment Referee Bursary, which will recognize a referee who was deemed to have placed ‘top of the class’ while achieving their N status during 2018. The recipient will receive a $400 bursary in recognition for their efforts.

The CFF is seeking nominations in the following award categories:

President’s Award: The CFF President’s Award is reserved to recognize the exceptional achievement and/or long and outstanding contribution of an individual to the sport of fencing.

Carl Schwende Award: The Carl Schwende Volunteer of the Year Award recognizes an individual who through excellence, dedication and the true spirit of volunteerism, made a significant contribution to the sport of fencing in Canada during the calendar year of 2018.

Lightwood Award: The Lightwood Award was created in 1968 in honour of George Lightwood. This award recognizes athletes who have excelled in competition during the year proceeding the date of the award, or present an outstanding record of performance in the past, all while demonstrating exceptional talent, sportsmanship and dedication to the sport of fencing.

Cadet Male Athlete of the Year

Cadet Female Athlete of the Year

Junior Male Athlete of the Year

Junior Female Athlete of the Year

Senior Male Athlete of the Year

Senior Female Athlete of the Year

Veteran Male Athlete of the Year

Veteran Female Athlete of the Year

Christian Vidosa Award: The CFF Christian Vidosa Referee of the Year is awarded annually to the national level referee deemed to have made an outstanding contribution to the delivery and development of officiating in Canada during the period of April 1, 2018 to March 31, 2019.

Coach of the Year Award: The CFF welcomes your nomination of a high performance level coach who has made a positive impact on his / her athletes and the sport of fencing as a whole.

All nominations are due by April 12, 2019.