CFF is Seeking Nominations

By David Howes March 13, 2017

The CFF will be staging its 5th Annual Awards & Recognition Banquet on Saturday, April 22nd in conjunction with the CFF National Fencing Championships in Gatineau, Quebec.

The CFF is seeking nominations in the following award categories:

  • President’s Award: The CFF President’s Award is reserved to recognize the exceptional achievement and/or long and outstanding contribution of an individual to the sport of fencing.

Nomination form links:


  • Carl Schwende Award: The Carl Schwende Volunteer of the Year Award recognizes an individual who through excellence, dedication and the true spirit of volunteerism, made a significant contribution to the sport of fencing in Canada during the calendar year of 2016.
  • Nomination form links:
  • Lightwood Award: The Lightwood Award was created in 1968 in honour of George Lightwood. This award recognizes athletes who have excelled in competition during the year proceeding the date of the award, or present an outstanding record of performance in the past, all while demonstrating exceptional talent, sportsmanship and dedication to the sport of fencing.
  • Christian Vidosa Award: The CFF Christian Vidosa Referee of the Year is awarded annually to the national level referee deemed to have made an outstanding contribution to the delivery and development of officiating in Canada during the period of April 1, 2016 to March 31, 2017.
  • Nomination form links:
  • Coach of the Year Award: The CFF welcomes your nomination of a high performance level coach who has made a positive impact on his / her athletes and the sport of fencing as a whole.
  • Nomination form links:

All nominations are due by April 7, 2017.